How it Works

Class of 2020, do you have what it takes to earn a Heisman high school scholarship?

Eligibility begins with maintaining a weighted GPA of 3.0 (B average) or better. Applicants also need to be proven leaders and role models within their school and community. And applicants must participate or have participated in grades 9, 10, or 11 in at least one of the 48 school sponsored sports recognized by the International Olympic Committee in the Summer and Winter Olympic Games or the National Federation of State High School Associations.

Scholarship Levels

  • 1
    State Winners: $500 Scholarship

    A $500 college scholarship will be awarded to one senior male and one senior female from each state. The 88 State Winners who do not move on to the National Finalist round will receive a $500 scholarship.

  • 2
    National Finalists: $1,000 Scholarship

    The 12 National Finalists are selected from 100 State Winners, made up of six senior males and six senior females from each of the six geographic Heisman regions. The 10 National Finalists who are not named a National Winner will receive a $1,000 scholarship.

  • 3
    National Winners: $5,000 Scholarship

    A judging panel will select one senior male and one senior female from the 12 National Finalists as Heisman High School Scholarship National Winners. National Award Winners will receive a $5,000 college scholarship, as well as national recognition during the televised ESPN Heisman Trophy ceremony.

Heisman high school Scholarship REGIONS

The Heisman High School Scholarship uses six geographic regions. Twelve National Finalists—six males and six females—will be selected from the six Heisman High School Scholarship regions.


National Winners Announced

Check back for the announcement of the 2019 male and female National Winners.

National Winners will be announced on our Facebook and Twitter channels on Wednesday, December 4 at 12 p.m. ET / 9 a.m. PT.

See All Important Dates